the approach to New Ross Port, there are moorings upstream of the
bridge, beside the New Ross Boat Club pontoon, where visitors are
welcome. There is plenty of depth on the outside of the pontoon at all
tides. The bridge is fixed and lining up with the central arch to
account for tides is advised. South of the bridge, there are many
commercial shipping quays in the Port and The Three Sisters Marina,
offers complete protection from all conditions.
Three Sisters Marina
one of the few marinas in the country that has Blue Flag status and
has electrical shore power, mains water toilets and shower facilities.
LWS draught 5m (16.4 feet); maximum draught 2.4m; maximum length 20m.
Position on the south western corner of the marina: 52° 23.481' N,
006° 57.117' W. Distances to: Cheek Point - 7.3 miles; Waterford -
9.6 miles; Passage East - 9.1 miles; Duncannon - 10.2 miles. Tide
estimates are based on High Water Cobh +0112, Cheekpoint +0040.
Admiralty Chart 2046 New Ross to Cheekpoint and Waterford Estuary-
scale of 1:25,000 and New Ross - scale of 1:10,000.
Marina (John Dimond): Mob:+353 (0)86 3889652, e-mail:
large town has many super markets, shops, restaurants, pubs, hotels,
banks, a post office, a library, swimming pool, large park, taxis and
bus services. New Ross serves as a gateway, from which to explore the
Barrow and Nore valleys as well as Hook Peninsula by road.
the 13th century, Ross was the major port in Ireland
and since then the Port has had a long commerical, maritime tradition,
continuing today with shipping companies still working out of the
Port. The original shipbuilding yard has been reinvented as a
boatyard, and combined with the marina, chandlery and New Ross Boat
Club, boats are well serviced in the area. The Galley Cruising
Restaurant continues the river experience….
year there is a Choral Festival, Piano Festival, Drama Festival,
Kennedy Summer School, Irish America Day, Ireland Newfoundland
Festival, Celtic River Festival and Barrow Challenge (rowing race from
St. Mullins to New Ross).
replica tall ship Dunbrody is prominent on the quayside and her
Visitor Centre also serves as a tourist office, café, gift shop,
genealogy centre and
offers guided tours of the ship and interactive exhibition.
landmarks around the town illustrate New Ross’s turbulent history. The
Tholsel was built in 1749 and stored the mace of King Edward III
(1374) and King Charles II (1685) and the Charter of King James II
(1688), which resolved the dispute between Ross and Waterford Ports.
After his defeat at the Battle of Boyne in 1690, King James II stayed
in Hanrahan's Pub (formerly Annsley's Town House) on his way to
Duncannon to board his ship to France.
the town square, a bronze pikeman stands in place of the original
cannon, which defended the garrison from 20,000 rebels during the 1798
Cromwell was hospitalised on the site of Folly House in 1649. Maiden
gate was a prison and construction of its mile-long 20ft wall began in
1265. The town could muster a defence of: 363 cross-bow men, 1,200
long-bow archers, 3,000 pikemen and 104 horsemen.
of the 3,000 rebels killed were interred in a mass grave in front of
the Carmelite convent, which in more recent times, became world famous
for production of lace. The ruins of the 13th century St
Mary's Church still stand, and a tunnel reputedly leads from the
church under the river to the west bank.
New Ross Slí na Sláinte walking route