Extent of the Waterways -  River Barrow                         

The River Barrow meanders through farmland, wooded valleys with steep sides, and as it enters the canal system passes through many historic towns and villages  eventually linking to both the western waterways and east coast of Ireland.


The Barrow flows from the Slieve Bloom mountains east and then south through: Portarlington, Monasterevin, Athy, Maganey, Carlow, Leighlinbridge, Bagenalstown, Goresbridge, Graiguenamanagh, St. Mullins, New Ross, and Cheekpoint until the sea.   Building of the  Barrow navigation began in 1760 and continued until 1812 with 23 locks from Athy to St. Mullins. 

          Waterford Estuary to St. Mullins 35 miles / 56 km (tidal)

          Barrow Navigation from St. Mullins to Athy 41 miles / 66 km (23 locks)

          The Barrow Line to the Grand Canal System: Athy to Lowtown - 28 miles / 45 km (9 locks)

          The Grand Canal System from Dublin to the River Shannon - 82 miles / 132 km (44 locks)